An architecture student’s thoughts on his own thesis project

“It was my thesis presentation on Mayan civilization, corn, and bio plastics in the context of architecture … basically a bunch of nonsense that I have to make up so I can graduate.”

I happened to stumble across the student’s photo of his thesis critique setup in my Facebook news feed. I was interested in seeing his spread of posters and project documentation. When I clicked on the photo, I saw what he commented in response to someone asking what it was for. I could rant forever on how preposterous it is to not care about one’s own project in a field as influential as architecture. It makes me see red. The passion is fake. The vision is fake. If you don’t care, don’t do it. If these are the students schools are producing, then I’m scared to imagine what the future of design could become.

Leave a Reply

