Sew interested

As of late, I’ve been developing a strong urge to sew. I’ve never used a sewing machine in my life. I want to dabble. There’s something so genuine in slaving over every pattern and stitch. It reminds me of my old architecture days when I spent hours on models and produced beauty sometimes and failures other times. Regardless of the outcome, it was insanely gratifying. Now I want to sew.

I’ve spent hours upon hours perusing Amazon for sewing machines, specifically Singer and Brother. They all look very nice… and very plastic. I started looking at older machines from the 1950’s and ’60s and I’ve fallen head over heels for the Singer 301a slant needle machine. It’s a beauty! All metal gears and casing and awesomeness.

My dream machine.

My dream machine.

I plan on taking sewing lessons and getting advice from seasoned veterans before really setting my heart on the 301a. I’ve already dabbled in textile design and printing (as you can view on my portfolio) so I think it would be an amazing exploration of depth and design with my original textiles.

Leave a Reply

